Governance and Management


The Council governs the University in terms of section 27 of the Act and University Statute, and subject to the principles of good corporate governance.  The Council is responsible for governance and policymaking at the University, as well as for monitoring compliance therewith.



   Council Members






   External Members

   Internal Members

   Non-Members on Committees


The Senate is accountable to the Council for all the academic and research functions within the University and all other functions delegated or assigned to it by the Council. Composition, powers and functions of Senate are subject to the Act.

   Institutional Forum

The Institutional Forum as contemplated in section 31(1) of the Act. The Institutional Forum is an advisory body established in terms of section 31 of the Act and advises the Council on:

    Top Management

Vice-Chancellor and Principal

Prof Ntate Dan Kgwadi
Tel: 016 950 9275/9215


Deputy Vice-Chancellor : Teaching and Learning and Student Affairs

Prof Margaret Linington
Tel: 016 950 9226

Deputy Vice-Chancellor : Research, Innovation,

Commercialisation and Internationalisation

Dr Speech Nelana (Acting)

Deputy Vice-Chancellor : Resources and Planning


Prof Raymond Mabuza (Acting)
Tel: 016 950 9150/9359


Dr Dan Mokoena
Tel: 016 950-9930

Chief Financial Officer

Ms Nontando Mgobo
Tel: 016 950 6980


   Executive Deans

Faculty of Human Sciences

Prof Kgomotso Michael Masemola
Tel: 016 9520 9362


Faculty of Management Sciences

Prof Chengedzai Mafini
Tel: 016 950 6886

Faculty of Applied and Computer Science

Prof Christa Grobler (Acting)
Tel: 016 950 9228

Faculty of Engineering and Technology

Prof Peter Osifo
Tel: 016 950-9301

   Executive Directors

Executive Director: Center for Academic Development

Dr Muntuwenkosi (Muntu) Chili
Tel: 016 950 6760

Executive Director: Advancement

Ms Tandi Mapukata
Tel: 016 950 9516


Executive Director: Human Resources

Mrs Busisiwe Ramabodu
Tel: 016 950 9327


Executive Director: IT Services

Mr David Ramasodi

Executive Director: Logistics and Operations

Mr Leonard Swana
Tel: 016 950 9692

Executive Director: Student Support Services

Dr Sibusiso Mchunu


Convocation is known as the convocation of the Vaal University of Technology, hereafter referred to as the Convocation. The Convocation is recognized by the Council as a structure of the University in terms of Chapter 9 of the Vaal University of Technology Statute.

   Student Representative Council (SRC)

The SRC represents all students within the University. The SRC is not a legal entity separate from the University. The SRC functions in terms of a Constitution approved by the Council as a set of Rules, which determines the manner of election, the term of office, the functions and the privileges of the SRC.

   Institutional Statute